Foreign adviser qualification standards finalised

The Financial Adviser Standards and Ethics Authority has published its foreign qualification standard policy that includes a two-step assessment process for new advisers.

Under the standard, new entrants and relevant providers are required to undertake a two-step process:

  • an assessment by a Department of Education and Training (DET) approved body, for example the Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand (CA ANZ) and Certified Practicing Accountants (CPA) associations; and
  • an assessment by FASEA as to the equivalence of the foreign qualification to a degree or qualification approved under FPS001 Education Pathways Policy.

FASEA said it will then determine the requirements for the new entrant or existing adviser (as defined under s1546A of the Corporations Act 2001) under FPS001 Education Pathways Policy.

The standard was informed through consultation with stakeholders in August 2018 and through eight formal submissions during FASEA’s consultation process in November 2018


It said it adopted suggestions including clarifications that New Entrant Foreign Qualification assessment will include a gap assessment of FASEA knowledge areas and/or Australian regulatory and legal obligations of financial advisers, and that a process will be available to request a review of FASEA’s assessment decision for a fee.

Foreign adviser qualification standards finalised
australian map
ifa logo
Adrian Flores

Adrian Flores

Adrian Flores is a deputy editor at Momentum Media, focusing mainly on banking, wealth management and financial services. He has also written for Public Accountant, Accountants Daily and The CEO Magazine.

You can contact him on [email protected].

Subscribe to the ifa bulletin

Receive daily online news,analysis, reports and business strategies
By signing up you agree to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Website Notifications

Get notifications in real time and stay up to date with content that matters to you.