FPA names new chair of FPEC

The FPA has announced the appointment of Western Sydney University associate professor Sharon Taylor as the new Financial Planning Education Council (FPEC) chair, following the resignation of former chair Mark Brimble.

FPEC is an ‘independent body’ established by the FPA to assess and accredit higher education pathways as entry points to the CFP program, which developed the approved education pathways that were subsequently adopted by FASEA in its first guidance release.

Former chair Mark Brimble stepped down from the role February amid concerns his employment as a professor with Griffith University and position on the FASEA board may lead to a conflict of interest.

Mr Brimble was subsequently appointed interim managing director of FASEA after chief executive Deen Sanders announced his departure from the government organisation.


The University of Western Sydney recently announced the launch of a graduate diploma for advisers, which has been “fully accredited” by FPEC to meet FASEA education standards.

FPA names new chair of FPEC
Mark Brimble, FPEC, FPA, Sharon Taylor, University of Western Sydney, FASEA, Deen Sanders,
ifa logo

Subscribe to the ifa bulletin

Receive daily online news,analysis, reports and business strategies
By signing up you agree to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Website Notifications

Get notifications in real time and stay up to date with content that matters to you.