SMSF and Accounting Awards NSW winners announced

The New South Wales-based winners of ifa sister title SMSF Adviser’s first SMSF and Accounting Awards have been revealed.

At a function in Sydney last night, winners for the inaugural, state-based SMSF and Accounting Awards – organised in conjunction with SuperConcepts were announced to a crowd of over 250 professionals.

The SMSF and Accounting Awards are the first of their kind in Australia, and recognise those professionals who are setting the benchmark for excellence in their provision of services to clients in their home state.

“We recognise that national awards programs aren’t always the right fit for professionals who are concentrated on their locale, and we are pleased that we can acknowledge their contribution to the industry,” said SMSF Adviser’s head of partnerships Terry Braithwaite.


“Congratulations to all finalists and winners for their outstanding achievements at the very first SMSF and Accounting Awards.”

The judges commented on the exceptional quality of nominees this year, and particularly remarked on the efforts firms and individuals are going to with innovation and client servicing standards.

2017 NSW SMSF Summit winners

The winners for the 2017 SMSF Summit Awards in New South Wales are:

Accounting Firm of the Year

Bottrell Business Consultants

Auditor of the Year

Joel Curry, TriSuper Auditors

Bookkeeper of the Year

Sophie Andrews, The Accounts Studio

Community Engagement Pprogram of the Year

Leenane Templeton The Self Managed Superfund Specialists

Customer Service Firm of the Year

Boyd & Associates

Editor’s Choice

Rocco Musumeci, Henderson Maxwell

Multi Service Firm of the Year

Pitcher Partners

New Firm of the Year

Lateral Partners

Newcomer of the Year

Katie Hows,

Office Manager of the Year

Ashima Seth, ESV Accounting and Business Advisors

Partner of the Year

Charlie Viola, Pitcher Partners

Small Business Adviser of the Year

Anderson Tax & Consulting

SMSF and Accounting Professional of the Year – Metropolitan

Liam Shorte, Verante

SMSF and Accounting Professional of the Year – Regional

Peter Fowler, Collins Hume

SMSF Adviser Excellence Award

Liam Shorte, Verante

SMSF Adviser of the Year

Shane Morgan, Cutcher & Neale

SMSF Audit Firm of the Year


SMSF Firm of the Year

Collins Hume

SMSF Investment Strategist of the Year

Paul Bottele, HLB Mann Judd Wealth Management (Wollongong)

SMSF Specialist Accountant of the  Year

David Henriksen, PKF

Tax and Compliance Firm of the Year

Sovereign Private

SMSF and Accounting Awards NSW winners announced
SMSF Adviser, SMSF awards, accounting awards, Bottrell Business Consultants, Joel Curry, TriSuper Auditors, Sophie Andrews, The Accounts Studio, Leenana Templeton, The Self Managed Superfund Specialists, Boyd & Associates, Rocco Musumeci, Henderson Maxwell, Pitcher Partners, Lateral Partners , Katie Hows,, Ashima Seth, ESV Accounting and Business Advisors, Charlie Viola, Pitcher Partners, Anderson Tax & Consulting, Liam Shorte, Verante, Peter Fowler, Collins Hume, Shane Morgan, Cutcher & Neale, Deloitte, Collins Hume, Paul Bottele, HLB Mann Judd Wealth Management, David Henriksen, PKF, Sovereign Private
ifa logo

Subscribe to the ifa bulletin

Receive daily online news,analysis, reports and business strategies
By signing up you agree to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Website Notifications

Get notifications in real time and stay up to date with content that matters to you.