Advisers recognised at Women in Finance Awards

A number of practising financial advisers have been named among the winners of the inaugural Women in Finance Awards, an initiative of Momentum Media in partnership with NAB.

Leading female professionals, business owners and executives from across the finance sector have been recognised at an awards ceremony in Sydney last night that was attended by more than 800 industry participants and supporters.

Among the winners, a number of practising financial advisers have been highlighted. Elle Ross of Equitem was named Financial Planner/Adviser of the Year, Liz Trotter of Triple A Financial Services has been named Risk Adviser of the Year and Jemma Sanderson of Cooper Partners has been named SMSF Adviser of the Year.

Meanwhile, Trish Wilson of Asteron Life won the Business Development Professional of the Year award and Catherine Allfrey of WaveStone Capital was crowned Investment Manager of the Year.


Momentum Media head of events and professional development Jim Hall said that the winners represent the finest professionals and leaders in Australian finance.

“Congratulations to all of the winners of the first ever Women in Finance Awards,” Mr Hall said.

“It was an amazing night, and we’re proud to elevate the achievements of these inspirational women, who are not only role models for women in the financial services industry, but for the industry as a whole.

“By rewarding their hard work and dedication, and recognising the companies who have made diversity their mission, we hope to highlight the inspirational high achievers from the financial sector and recognise the rising stars of tomorrow.”

The winners of the inaugural Women in Finance Awards are:

Accountant of the Year
Jo Heighway

Association Leader of the Year
Kathryn Bordonaro
Commercial Asset Finance Brokers Association of Australia

Bookkeeper of the Year
Diane Lucas
Direct Management

Business Development Professional of the Year
Trish Wilson

Chief Executive Officer of the Year
Jan Edwards
BDCU Alliance Bank

Chief Financial Officer of the Year
Anna Harper

Director of the Year
Nicky Lonergan
SV Partners

Executive Assistant/Personal Assistant of the Year
Maria Skotidas
Thomson Reuters Tax & Accounting

Financial Planner/Adviser of the Year
Elle Ross

Fintech Leader of the Year
Lisa Schutz

Human Relations Professional of the Year
Sarah Black

Innovator of the Year
Jo Heighway

Investment Manager of the Year
Catherine Allfrey
WaveStone Capital

Legal Counsel of the Year
Ailsa Bailey
National Australia Bank

Marketing Professional of the Year
Deirdre Boyle
AIA Australia

Mentor of the Year
Carmella Galasso
ANZ Banking Group

Mortgage and Finance Broker of the Year
Deslie Taylor
Mortgage Choice

Office Administrator of the Year
Rachael Keuning
Walsh Accountants

Principal of the Year
Tracy Kearey
Home Loan Connexion

Public Relations/Communications Professional of the Year
Bessie Hassan

Regional Leader of the Year
Jan Edwards
BDCU Alliance Bank

Risk Adviser of the Year
Liz Trotter
Triple A Financial Services

SMSF Adviser of the Year
Jemma Sanderson
Cooper Partners Financial Services

Thought Leader of the Year
Alexis Cheang

Young Leader of the Year
Marissa Schulze
Rise High Financial Solutions

Women in Finance Excellence Award
Jo Heighway

Employer of the Year
Westpac Banking Corporation

Recruiter of the Year
Profusion Group

Women's Community Program of the Year
Women with Cents

Advisers recognised at Women in Finance Awards
Women in Finance Awards, trophy, winner
ifa logo

Subscribe to the ifa bulletin

Receive daily online news,analysis, reports and business strategies
By signing up you agree to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Website Notifications

Get notifications in real time and stay up to date with content that matters to you.